A RICH HISTORY
At first glance, Lacey may appear to be a relatively new community, but it was actually a thriving town boasting a train station, hotel, post office and nationally-renowned horseracing facility way back in the 1890s.
The Lacey Museum was established to further the preservation and interpretation of Lacey’s history through exhibition venues, historical publications, educational programming and research activities.
The museum’s permanent and rotating exhibits highlight many interesting periods of Lacey’s past—from the pioneer-era of the 1850s to the fight for incorporation in the 1960s. Popular exhibits include the “Resort Room,” which features artifacts and photographs from the nineteen resorts that graced Lacey’s five lakes in the 1920s, and the “Lacey School Room,” which explores the important role the Lacey School played within the community and includes such objects as the school’s 1913 tower bell.
Displays also highlight Lacey’s fame as a horseracing mecca in the late-1890s, the establishment of historic Saint Martin’s University and the birth of Washington State’s first radio station in a small log cabin on the campus’ grounds.
The Lacey Museum is located at 829 Lacey Street SE. Hours of operation are Thursdays and Fridays from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m., and Saturdays from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Group tours, historical presentations and access for researchers can also be arranged by appointment. Admission to the museum is free.
For more information, including how to become involved in the Lacey Historical Commission or to serve as a volunteer docent, please contact the museum at (360) 438-0209.